Home > Photography > rO Photography

rO Photography

Photography is the science, art and practice of drawing with light.  We’ve all at one point in life captured moments using a camera. Technology has made photography experience fantastic through invention of powerful cameras and lenses, smart digital cameras and camera integration in cell phones. People have made careers out of it as well as hobbies. Photography complements travel. A picture says a thousand words. This post is dedicated to all who have a passion in photography and one of them is rO. I introduce you to Riyaz Osman.

__________________________________________________________________________________

PROFILE

NAME: Riyaz Osman

EMAIL: riyaz.osman@gmail.com

URL: rO Photography   Twitter: @ri_yaz

Professional Photographer living and working in Nairobi, Kenya.

________________________________________________________________________________

  • Which Camera do you use, lenses and other accessories?

I use a Nikon D5000. I have a standard 18-55mm Nikon lens, and managed to get a 55-200mm zoom lens. I got a Nikon flashlight as well to compliment night shots. A friend (zaheen) recently bought me a tripod to work with!

  • How did you start off in Photography? Did you face any challenges?

Well, as mentioned earlier, the biggest challenge was getting the equipment initially. Locally obtaining them is quite a cost, and so is abroad. Plus, if you don’t really have means to cover it, you may see yourself spending quite a chunk! That’s why they say, ‘Photography Is an expensive hobby.’

Once you start though, trust me you never look back!

The other challenge is the mentality of people.  Quoting a job sometimes gets so hectic. At present, most ‘customers’ are friends, so you can imagine if you are trying to make any headway. They’re always there using your skills for free!! (Lol. I’m just kidding) Well, getting clients is quite a hustle – You sometimes have to be so patient. Plus competition out there is massive, there are people who have made their mark out there, and if I can get anywhere even as close as them, it will be massively lucky for me!

The other challenge I face is my work – I’m so busy in my full time job that sometimes I have had to turn down jobs *ouch* coz I couldn’t make the timing (say a weekday during the day!)

Also, when you do some shoot over the weekend, the client “naturally” expects pics in, say, one day. Whereas I may have to take 2-3 days for the editing, correction etc coz of my other commitments. Basically, timing is sometimes a “Challenge” to me.

  • Are you into professional photography as a career or a hobby?

I’ve always loved photography, and pictures. Since the days of hanging out, or raving and those road trips, pictures always fascinated me! So somewhere along the line when accounts got really boring, I thought to myself, why not get deeper into this? I saved up some Quids to get the camera. I currently do it as a hobby but get a few jobs here and there simply to be able to obtain more and more accessories, then who knows??

  • What’s your view on Photography in Kenya? Is there potential?

There is awesome talent here!! I see some of the pictures my fellow, respected professionals take and I go, “is that in Kenya?!!” Yu see stuff day in day out but the way the pictures are captured makes it unbelievable!! The great thing about Kenya is that we have such vast scenery, I think it’s definitely one of the best, from the lake to the ocean… from the dry lands to the forest!

  • Who’s your mentor and who’s work do you admire most?

My mentor has always been Najam Quraishy (Chico) of Photomural Gigiri. From teaching me how to take pics to their enhancement. He has taught me most of the things I know. Great funny guy and I owe him a lot!

I don’t really admire wok of someone particular; I just love the art in pictures. I believe everyone has a photographer hidden inside them (even those blurry club pics that my friend Snave takes from his 1.3mp camera phone are sometimes breathtaking!!)

  • Parting Words…

To sum it all up, I thank everyone who has helped me learn everything I know… and for all the support… Let’s keep clicking away!

“If you see something that moves you, and then snap it, you keep a moment.” 
– Linda McCartney

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Credits: Special thanks to Riyaz Osman. This article may be used for commercial purposes but kindly give credit to rO and link back to this blog post. 

  1. Lucy
    October 21, 2011 at 2:04 PM

    Yeeeeah! egichomo is back 2 blogging. i love the post!!

  2. eGichomo
    October 21, 2011 at 3:03 PM

    Thanks Lulu 🙂
    Here to stay… I’ll work on more posts. Bookmark URL.

  3. Mouse
    October 21, 2011 at 3:15 PM

    Nice piece Snave. Way to go rO….still coming for the photoshoot at the “friendly” prices lol!

  4. eGichomo
    October 21, 2011 at 3:22 PM

    Thanks Mouse!
    You’re also welcome for a photo-shoot from my 1.3mp camera phone, they’ll be breathtaking! LOL

  5. Anonymous
    June 19, 2012 at 8:22 AM

    wow its almost been a year! Just read your article thanks for the credit!

  6. April 4, 2014 at 12:32 AM

    Hi there friends, good piece of writing and pleasant urging commented at this place, I am actually enjoying
    by these.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

