Home > Photography, Travel > Nairobi National Park

Nairobi National Park

On Sunday, 27th March 2011 at 6am I was at the Nairobi National Park. I had made plans with Dr. @paulakahumbu to join in the Nairobi park game count but after revisiting the email I realized I’d gotten the date wrong! Maybe it was the anxiety. Gates were opened and after a couple of consultations I got a ranger and entrance for a self drive.

Camera in hand, we changed roles and Wachira took up driving. He knows the park like the back of his hand. A couple of minutes into the park we were welcomed by this magnificent sunrise. (click to view actual size)

There were all sorts of sounds; birds twittering, crickets were creaking and the wind chimed through the grass and acacia trees. It was amazing, true surround soundtrack of nature. The air was filled with a ‘wild’ scent wherever you turn. I last visited the park when I was 12 and many years after, it felt like a new experience. The city could be seen at the horizon making me wonder how a getaway (freedom) from the hustles and bustles was just a few kilometers away. Nairobi National Park is the only park within a city, in the world. “The World’s only wildlife capital” There are city residents with an annual gate pass and instead of following the highway from Karen-Mombasa Rd. they get daily access to drive through the park to work, avoiding all the traffic. How about that for starting the day!

The game drive was a success. My guide was very determined to show me at least 15 wild animals, and we easily passed our target.  The best part was when we saw a pride of lions preparing to hunt. Check out the photos in my album [Nairobi National Park] in addition to the few below..

Nature is amazing. It’s mind blowing how something that hasn’t been touched by humans is so beautiful. I hope we conserve our parks and I will blog on more of my visits. I consider it therapy and it’s a passion. I love nature, do you?

Share your opinions in the comment area. Have a nice Safari!

Nairobi National Park stats:

  • 117 Km2
  • The park has 7 gates.
  • Climate: January-March is hot and dry, April-June is hot and wet, and July-October is very warm and wet.
  • Home to over 100 mammal species, four of the Big Five (lion, Buffalo, leopard and  rhino)
  • Diverse birdlife:Has over 400 bird species. At least 20 of which are seasonal European migrants.

Email me on egichomo@gmail.com for more information and for a chance to join in the animal count, email fonnap1@gmail.com

This marks a series or visits and explorations to come. Follow @eGichomo on twitter for more updates.

  1. March 29, 2011 at 1:45 PM

    Cool!

    Was kinda hoping you’d play leap frog with the buffalo…but we can’t always have what we want now can we?

    Thanks for sharing!

    • eGichomo
      March 29, 2011 at 2:11 PM

      Haha.. It has black eyes, black tongue black everything.. I wanted to wake up to a Monday!
      Thanks Buggz.

  2. March 29, 2011 at 3:58 PM

    Hehe Buggz leapfrog a buffalo’ is a game YOU would play. Gichomo am sure you enjoyed it, been planning to do the same lakini time…

    • eGichomo
      March 29, 2011 at 4:20 PM

      It was amazing Ngeny. Make a point, you could do an early morning drive from 6am for 5 hours. I plan to explore more parks within the EA region..

  3. bianca
    March 31, 2011 at 2:57 PM

    Beautiful! I love the lions and the buffalo…. did I forget the sunrise…what an experience…

    • eGichomo
      March 31, 2011 at 3:12 PM

      It was amazing, join me on the next one. Kenya is a beautiful country!

  4. Ali
    July 23, 2011 at 1:15 PM

    Great article Gichimo and the pics are fantastic.
    Kenya sure is a beautiful country and Its up to us to promote it.Good job

    • eGichomo
      July 25, 2011 at 10:54 AM

      Hi Ali,
      Thanks for the feedback. Proudly Kenyan and indeed, we should promote it. Asante.

  5. ann
    August 23, 2011 at 11:34 AM

    An interesting pic would be you next to the lion.. i just pray ul live to blog about it.

    • eGichomo
      August 23, 2011 at 1:10 PM

      Haha! Thanks for wishing me well Ann. I’ll be sure to share that photo..

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

