Home > Life, Sports > My Third Place

My Third Place

In the marketing field, there’s a saying that goes, ‘’everyone has their third place.’’ I would like to relate that to my day to day life and tag the Third Place as that place you go to, other that Work and Home. The place you go for fun and leisure.

To some the third place could be a sports club, a poetry club, a religious centre, a coffee shop but I would like to relate this Blog to a place I am aspiring to make as my Third Place, the Gym. I have been composing myself for far too long to run a blog and just like the gym, I want to build on something. Every sweat I break will be towards making an achievement. I know this will be an interesting journey.

The gym requires the observation of three important things:

  • Perfection: I have this as my second post and I am aiming to build an archive that will be resourceful for generations to come. Truth is, perfection can never be reached. It’s all a matter of achieving and resetting goals. Set new goals, achieve them, reset, and repeat… there is no finish line.
  • Success: As the old saying goes, it’s only in the dictionary that Work comes after Success. For someone to succeed, you must put in a lot of effort and commitment. The first week of hitting the gym will make me adopt a new walking style but success is not something you wait for. You have to hunt it. Roll up your sleeves and work hard towards something.
  • Planning: Failing to plan is planning to fail. I have outlines a few categories in which my posts will be derived from. Just like in the Gym, I have planned why I am here, how long it will take me to succeed and what I am going to accomplish.

So, what is your third place? Where do you go when you leave home and work? What have you learnt from your Third Place and from the people there? How do you apply that to your day to day life? Share below.

Tags: ,
  1. Mwirigi
    January 13, 2010 at 7:21 PM

    Actually, I dont have a third place!! For me its a state of mind.
    Funny you should blog about going to the gym as I’m gearing up for my first morning run TOMORROW!

  2. egichomo
    January 13, 2010 at 7:34 PM

    State of mind, Hmmm… interesting. Tell me more. Quite a timely blog post indeed, Let us know how that will go, I can step in with some muscle-relief spray..

  3. January 13, 2010 at 8:06 PM

    Truly enlightening…i’ll have to think of my third place, if i have one, and then get back to u 🙂 Thanks

    • egichomo
      January 13, 2010 at 8:10 PM

      Thanks Kev, Looking forward to your findings..

  4. Stephanie Akello
    January 13, 2010 at 9:04 PM

    actually…funny thing is I have been trying to get my “third place” not that i knew how to refer to it before this blog…and i have just begun my gym work-outs from mid December and it feels great honestly; achieving what I had set out to do (like actually getting out of bed :)) other than that I am looking for my “Third place” something I will be more certain of….. i’m in the process

    • egichomo
      January 13, 2010 at 9:18 PM

      That is very positive feedback Stephanie. I like. Further looking forward to hitting the gym. Once you find your desired third place,do share.. Remember there is on finish line 🙂

  5. January 13, 2010 at 9:32 PM

    Thanks for the interesting post. My gym is at home, so my gym can not be my third place. I think my third place is vacation/holiday, I try to go out of town as often as possible, but not always to the same place. Would that mean I could have a third place, a fourth place, a fifth place, and so on?

    • egichomo
      January 13, 2010 at 10:34 PM

      Asante Rafiki. You have a Third Place that works like therapy to me, travelling. The marketing saying, ”everyone has their third place” can be stretched to a fourth, fifth.. place. Give me info on preferred destinations that don’t call for intense planning.

  6. boywonder101
    January 13, 2010 at 10:35 PM

    Nice. Mine would have to be the gym. It’s a truly rewarding experience, especially when you get past the ‘beginner phase’ and begin to appreciate the importance and benefits of your training, be it aerobics, weights, et al. I urge you on. The first couple of weeks won’t be easy, i’ve witnessed far too many beginners dropping off along the way. However once you get into the hang of it, you’ll enjoy it.

  7. Mburu
    January 13, 2010 at 11:04 PM

    Mine would be in the Matatu, on my way home. It looks rather odd, considering that the menace, traffic congestion and hiked fare( in case of rains), but after the bustling and hustling, I finally settle, usually choosing the left hand side of the driver, near the door but not too far behind.
    There I reminisce how my day had been, think of the relationship between life and the Matatu madness. Then reflect on how much life can be controlled by a single force (read mad inebriated driver), but still manage to make it. Does life really have to be free…directed to follow someone, goals, achievements or accomplish a mission in for the future?
    The achievements in life are immeasurable, yet intrinsically developed to push us out of the ‘box’ making the Third Place closer than what is actually its time!

    I’ll miss this position, once my juggernaut is repaired, and loneliness settles in!

  8. Chiira
    January 14, 2010 at 7:42 AM

    The balcony at my parents home is where i would definitely term as my third place. It has a beautiful view of Thika Road (ironic considering it’s notoriety with traffic) but we live somewhere further down. The breeze is what makes it all worthwhile as i settle in with a book/magazine and my radio tuned in to X-FM. From there you can also see the coffee fields of Kiambu and the flat Sukari Ranch.

  9. sibbie
    January 14, 2010 at 8:29 AM

    Seems like everyone’s Third place is a physical location. For me, my Third place happens in my head. I have this ability to just space out anytime and anywhere…get lost in thought and for long periods of time. *grin* Happy place that one 😀

  10. January 14, 2010 at 9:05 AM

    In a nutshell my third place is mostly in the house. I’ve done my comment and it was so long it looked like a post. Guess what, you have just given me an idea for a blog post. See you there when the post is done. Thank you thank you. hehehe.

  11. egichomo
    January 14, 2010 at 10:47 AM

    Boywonder1: Thanks for the motivation. I will keep my eyes fixed on the goal. I have a mentor even before I get started, Asante!

    Mburu: You are a funny one. Traffic is a big #Fail indeed but that’s a nice place to reflect on the day too. Don’t be taking the juggernaut every day. I think goals, achievements and missions are what make life worth living. They give shape to man because there are people without all these and they do not contribute well to the society. Why do you day achievements in life are immeasurable?

    • Mburu
      January 14, 2010 at 11:03 AM

      Achievements in life are immeasurable not in terms of the end result, but because they are drawn from a personal perspective not in the form of the traditional SMART format, but in the most essence of improving a person’s dreams and aspirations.
      If one goes for measurements in life… their is a likelihood of being heartbroken, in case th goals are not achieved within the set time frame.

      Traffic, is indeed a #fail, but looking at it from another point of view, it helps one draw a perspective of how life can be, if left in the hands of errant and crazy maniacs whose stunts are a death knell for the majority!

      • egichomo
        January 14, 2010 at 6:05 PM

        True true bro, I now get what you mean. The SMART analysis cannot be said to be the backbone of today’s life. The time aspect has always been a tricky thing to manage but when you think outside the box, create time and make allowances for lesson, everything can be achieved.

  12. egichomo
    January 14, 2010 at 10:48 AM

    Chiira: Picture perfect. I like your third place, within home but amazing. Keep us posted on that one.

    Sibbie: Wow. Interesting. Very interesting. It didn’t have to be a physical location after all. I’ve fallen victim a couple of times before, at least it’s human 🙂

    Shikomsa: Glad to have given you an idea. Your third place cannot be in the house. Chiira got an exception but I take it back. A bird has to leave it’s nest. The world has so much to offer and there are so many people and cultures to lock minds with. Explore. See you there 🙂

  13. January 14, 2010 at 10:58 AM

    Great one! My third place is at the football pitch, Discipline is key here and determines the milestone you make towards becoming a star. Keep time, respect and abide. Make the game your life and your life the game!

  14. wainaina a.k.a disaster103
    January 14, 2010 at 11:52 AM

    I also havent given thought to my third place. It used to be swimming bofore but rarely ever but now thanks to your post I think I really need to get one!!! Thanks man!

  15. Denny
    January 14, 2010 at 2:45 PM

    i’m not much of a reader, but this is quite insightful; it’s given me something to think about…my third place! nice work egichomo!

    • egichomo
      January 14, 2010 at 11:48 PM

      Thank you so much Denny, I hope to inspire you more and thanks for the encouragement.

  16. Soumei (Wambui/bobbui)
    January 14, 2010 at 3:10 PM

    I have 7 “third places” each for every day of the week! Routine sucks and i dont have the patience. Nothing in my life stays the same!

    Monday- riding my bike home from work :)thinking is at top speeds+its a form of P.E
    Tuesday- walking home, earphones (my own mix mainly soft rock/ neo-soul)
    Wednesday- laundry, 2hrs of LOUD none-stop rock,TOTAL cleansing!
    Thursday- Italian class, i love exploring different cultures
    Friday- SALSA (its here that i am COMPLETELY in tune with the woman in me)
    Saturday- my 3km run/ swimming/friends
    Sunday- Strolling/ picnic/ with the entire famo catching up!

    • egichomo
      January 14, 2010 at 11:52 PM

      Ok Soumei, you like music huh, I love exploring different cultures too but we’ll come back to that. Which our if the seven would you term as the most dominant when you think about perfection, success and planning?

  17. January 14, 2010 at 4:42 PM

    I move around a lot within and without the coast. I’m a lot at the beach or some seafront somewhere. But if by third place you mean that surreal time one feels completely calm and at ease, then these are still not my third places. If third place has to be away from home, ok let me see………..

  18. kanaosh
    January 14, 2010 at 5:29 PM

    third place nice blog post, made me think whether i have a third place i have been occupied by work and house work,after reading this blog and other people comments i think i need that (third place).thank u for this!

    • egichomo
      January 14, 2010 at 11:55 PM

      Welcome Kanaosh, once you get a Third Place feel free to share with us. Thank you and I’m glad to have inspired you.

  19. lilburdy
    January 14, 2010 at 6:21 PM

    Wow the gym!I hope the results will be visible. I dont know but I plan to make it swimming this year.
    I love that you started blogging this year..Yey!

    • egichomo
      January 14, 2010 at 11:57 PM

      Don’t look so hard for the changes, I’ll call it keeping fit! lol. Thanks for visiting the blog.. Book mark it, feed it in your RSS and be sure of getting interesting articles. Happy Year!

  20. egichomo
    January 14, 2010 at 7:15 PM

    That is a very good third place. I like the discipline part. Making life the game it indeed the way forward…it would contradict however when the famous slogan would be said, ‘don’t have the player…’ Life is good!

  21. Mburu
    January 14, 2010 at 7:30 PM

    egichomo :
    True true bro, I now get what you mean. The SMART analysis cannot be said to be the backbone of today’s life. The time aspect has always been a tricky thing to manage but when you think outside the box, create time and make allowances for lesson, everything can be achieved.

    Thanks for your understanding. If we follow the traditional method of adapting SMART, then the third place’s achievements will never see the light of day. I guess we all have different telescopic view of things depending on the eye-view!

  22. January 18, 2010 at 11:19 AM

    I love it. You’ve got a very fresh way of telling your story man. Keep me posted

  23. January 18, 2010 at 11:22 AM

    I love it. You’ve got a very fresh way of telling your story man. Keep me posted

    • egichomo
      January 20, 2010 at 10:53 AM

      Thanks Kevin, Book mark the blog, feed the URL in your reader and be sure of interesting, food-for thought, posts coming your way 🙂 Enjoy!

  24. Kellie
    January 20, 2010 at 11:34 AM

    I love the blog and the theme! I was to revert but life just took over 😦

    My 3rd place is mostly in my head, but it manifests in my (almost) daily jog, and what I write in my journal almost every evening.

  1. January 14, 2010 at 4:08 AM
  2. July 18, 2011 at 5:00 PM

Leave a Reply

